Intro to Spoonbill

My name is Spoonbill. Other things you should know about me are:

  1. I am a Canadian living and working in California. I cling to my Canadian pronunciations of pasta and decal, but completely embrace the ride-sharing and urban farming of California.
  2. I ride my bike for transportation a la Danish example, by which I mean, I eschew helmets and outfit concessions. I will ride my Schwinny Schwinn Schwinn in heels; I will not arrive with helmet hair.
  3. I love going to the movies.
  4. I respect Aaron Sorkin’s idealism and writing, even if he recycles phrases.
  5. I forget most of what I read. I love the Book Thief, anything Jane Austen, and a large corpus of Can Lit – but I couldn’t tell you what the books are about.
  6. I’m still searching for a career. Currently, I do sustainable economic analysis. Whatever that means.
  7. I’ve been running regularly since I was 19. I hate running.
  8. I keep exes in my life, like a spider with dead flies in her web. I never get over any of them.
  9. I’m celiac. Before it became trendy.
  10. I wear my heart upon my sleeve. If my sleeve were cut off my shirt, rolled up, stuffed inside a Kevlar pack and buried inside my chest in a deep, dark hole with only one, small door.
  11. The best compliment I have received in the last 6 months was this: “You grew up in a blue collar, working class family, didn’t you? I can tell.”
  12. I tell stories with an inappropriate level of detail.
  13. I wouldn’t know what to do without Ibis. I don’t tell her that often enough, but I think she knows.

It’s so nice to meet you.

Leave a Reply

